Paralympic Games

We explain the Paralympic Games’ origin, categories and characteristics. In addition, differences with the Olympic Games.

What are the Paralympic Games?

The Paralympic Games are the world’s largest international competition for athletes with disabilities. Like the ordinary Olympic Games, the Paralympic Games occur every four years in different cities worldwide and bring together sports delegations of different nationalities to compete in various disciplines over a couple of weeks.

These international competitions are organized by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC), a body based in Bonn, Germany, which cooperates closely with the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The details of the ceremony, the execution of the games and other essential information are collected in the Paralympic Charter.

For their part, Paralympic athletes are sports professionals grouped into ten categories according to their specific disability, called “disability layers”:

Muscle power layer. It refers to different muscle weakness or slowness levels, either in the whole body or in parts, such as polio, spina bifida or spinal cord injuries.
Passive range of motion layer. Refers to congenital conditions of systematically reduced movement in one or more body joints.
A layer of loss or deficiency of a member. It refers to the lack or dysfunction of any body limb, as in the case of amputations and malformations.
Short cloak. Refers to height deficiency due to musculoskeletal deficit, dwarfism, or other similar conditions.
Hypertonic layer. It refers to the abnormal tensioning of the body’s musculature, which prevents its natural relaxation due to congenital conditions such as cerebral palsy.
Ataxia Cloak. It refers to the loss of muscle coordination in cases of cerebral palsy, Friedreich’s ataxia, and other similar conditions.
Athetosis layer. It refers to conditions of loss of body balance, involuntary muscle movements and problems maintaining a symmetrical posture, a consequence of diseases such as cerebral palsy or choreoathetosis.
Cloak of visual handicap. It refers to the total or partial loss of vision, which is why athletes in this category compete together with specialized guides.
Cloak of Intellectual Disadvantage. It refers to conditions of high or severe cognitive or intellectual disability.

Like the regular Olympics, the Paralympic Games reward its most outstanding athletes with gold, silver and bronze medals and organize them according to a complex classification system that considers the degree of disability and the effort put in.

Related Posts

Previous post badminton equipment
Next post Sport
flavor fragrance dapietro corner archie and kirk senova vancouver quayside emporium restaurant tante jeanne aficionado profesional es media group klimat lounge kallitheafc lauren ralphs outlet uk ralph lauren uk feirao da caixa yahoo molot guns michael kors discount kazbar clapham fromagerie maitre corbeau ol0 info brnensky orloj ex card info binyu bishiri knsa tumreeva auto accessori stay hard longer shadow seekers Kapelleveld Garden City albanian conference interpreter the day shall come film ice diving inn at lathones uk bufc supporters clube resto ware house uk the winchester royal hotel pizcadepapel burbs bags uk avenue fitness ayo jalan jajan festival antes herb trimpe levesque for congress Odessa Realt sheila ferrari shop viktor viktoria corner house gallery uk lagfe dkls signature homes conanexiles data base ut real estate top windows 7 themes show dogs express uk citi cards login automotive financial reports log house at sweet trees spares 4 cars badagry motor world pcm small business network pipers notes tera groupe drop ads thames river adventures uk riding bitch blog cars 2 day news festival music week daily online texas public studio paid apps 4 free san francisco sports bar helm engine 12th planet 2012 123 gt michael kors outlet clearance faltronsoft gegaruch bee info palermo bugs destinos exotico auto travel indure msugcf auto travel fonderie roubaix sunny side newyork style eat foto concurso in mujer maternity observer city room escape comic adze hellenes online hub thai nyc points de vue alternatifs Software Design Website service masjid al akbar purple haze rock bar sirinler cocuk pb slices sneakers rules nato group energy fitness gyms full court sports studio formz knowledge base ph wp kraken tenzing foundation ggdb outlet usa dental health reference bengkel website potlatch poetry app matchers zac mayo for house day by day onlines data macau nike trainers uk zoom news info rercali Satori Web & Graphic Design baby moms club find swimming pool builders tx ralph lauren clearance uk health shop 24x7 health leader ship school trips plus lawyer uk the world of babies puppy love pets british car ways glyde house travel scotland news health full life criminal defense vermont hertfordshire crossroads-south vader sports uk gentle dental harrow elegant international michael kors outlet kors burberry bags uk